NOTICE OF FILING FOR THE 2024 STATE GENERAL ELECTION MURRAY COUNTY, MINNESOTA

Notice is hereby given of federal and state offices that will be voted for at the state general election to be held on Tuesday, November 5, 2024. The filing period for United States Senator, United States Representative, State Representative, Chief Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court, Associate Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court, Judge of the Minnesota Court of Appeals, and Judge of the District Court begins at 8:00 a.m., Tuesday, May 21, 2024 and ends at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, June 4, 2024.

The filing period for presidential elector candidates begins at 8:00 a.m., Tuesday May 21, 2024 and ends at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, August 20, 2024 for non-major political party candidate and independent candidates. The certification deadline for major political party presidential elector candidates is August 27, 2024.

Note: Filing offices will be closed Monday, May 27, 2024 in observance of Memorial Day. For presidential elector candidates, filing offices will be closed on Wednesday, June 19, 2024, in observance of the Juneteenth Holiday and Thursday, July 4, 2024 in observance of Independence Day.

The place of filing for federal offices is the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State, Veterans Services Building, 20 West 12th Street, St. Paul, MN 55155. The place of filing for state offices is with the Office of the Secretary of State or with the county auditor of the county in which the candidate resides.

Candidates may file in person or by mail, if the filing is received during the filing period. Candidates who will be absent from the state during the filing period and meet the requirements of Minnesota Statutes section 204B.09, subdivision 1a, may arrange to file during the seven days immediately preceding the candidate's absence from the state. This notice is provided based on current law. Be aware that the Legislature and/or the Governor could make changes that affect some of these processes.

This notice is provided pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 204B.33.

FEDERAL OFFICES

United States Presidential Electors (10)

United States Senator (1)

United States Representative (One office for District 7)

STATE LEGISLATIVE OFFICES

State Representative (One office for District 21A)

JUDICIAL OFFICES

Candidates for judicial office may file either with the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State or with the county auditor in the county where the candidate resides. A candidate filing for one of the Minnesota Court of Appeals seats that has been designated for one of the congressional districts must be a resident of that congressional district.

Supreme Court: (Three Seats)

Chief Justice (One Seat)

<u>Seat</u> <u>Incumbent:</u> Chief Justice Natalie E. Hudson

Associate Justice (Two Seats)

Seat #
5 Anne K. McKeig
6 Karl Procaccini

Court of Appeals (Seven Seats)

Appellate offices are elected statewide. Where designated, candidates must reside in the congressional district listed for at least one year.

<u>Seat #</u>	<u>Incumbent:</u>
2	Jonathan P. Schmidt
3 (2 nd Congressional District)	Sarah Wheelock
4	Tracy M. Smith
6 (1st Congressional District)	Renee L. Worke
8	Keala C. Ede
12	Diane B. Bratvold
14 (8th Congressional District)	Elise L. Larson

District Court

Fifth Judicial District (Five Seats)

	,
Seat #	<u>Incumbent:</u>
7	Mark E. Betters
10	Kristine A. Weeks
14	Krista J. Jass
17	Michael D. Trushenski
18	Andrea Lieser

COUNTY OFFICES

Candidates filing for the following County Offices file with the Murray County Auditor-Treasurer, Murray County Government Center, 2500 28th Street, Slayton, MN 56172. The filing period begins at 8:00 a.m., Tuesday, May 21, 2024 and ends at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, June 4, 2024.

Note: The Government Center will be closed Monday, May 27, 2024 in observance of Memorial Day.

County Commissioner (one from each District)

District 1

District 2

District 5

Soil and Water Supervisor (one from each District)

District 4

District 5

District 2 (Special Election to fill vacated term ending 12/31/2026)

Dated this 1st day of May, 2024

Heidi E. Winter,

Murray County Auditor-Treasurer